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TITLE 26 
LEGISLATIVE RULE 

WEST VIRGINIA BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
 

SERIES 6 
SCHEDULE OF FEES 

 
§26‐6‐1.  General. 
 
  1.1.  Scope.  ‐‐  This rule establishes the fees to be charged by the Board. 
 
  1.2.  Authority.  ‐‐  W. Va. Code §30‐1‐23. and W. Va. Code §30‐10‐6. 
 
  1.3.  Filing Date.  ‐‐  April 1, 2020. 
 
  1.4.  Effective Date.  ‐‐  July 1, 2020. 
 

1.5. Sunset Provision.  ‐‐  This rule shall terminate and have no further force or effect on July 1, 2030.  
 
§26‐6‐2. Definitions. 
 

2.1.  “Initial”  means  obtaining  a  license  in  West  Virginia  for  the  practice  of  veterinary  medicine, 
veterinary technology, or animal euthanasia technology for the first time. 

 
2.2  "Local  labor  market"  means  every  county  in  West  Virginia,  and  any  county  outside  of  West 

Virginia  if  any portion of  that  county  is within  fifty miles  of  the border  of West Virginia,  pursuant  to 
W.Va. Code §21‐1C‐2. 

 
2.3.  “Low‐income  individual”  means  an  individual  in  the  local  labor  market,  whose  household 

adjusted  gross  income  is  below  130  percent  of  the  federal  poverty  line.  This  term  also  includes  any 
person  enrolled  in  a  state  or  federal  public  assistance  program  including,  but  not  limited  to,  the 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program, Medicaid, or the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program.  

 
2.4. “Military families” means any person who serves as an active member of the armed forces of 

the  United  States,  the  National  Guard,  or  a  reserve  component  as  described  in  38  U.  S.  C.  §101, 
honorably  discharged  veterans  of  those  forces,  and  their  spouses.  This  term  also  includes  surviving 
spouses of deceased service members who have not remarried.   
 
§26‐6‐3.  Schedule of Fees. 
 
  3.1.  Veterinary application, examination and license fee  ......................................................... $300.00 
 
  3.2.  Veterinary license renewal fee  ………………………………………………………………………………………$250.00 
 
  3.3.  Veterinary inactive license fee   ............................................................................................ $75.00  
 
  3.4.  Veterinary inactive license reactivation fee  ....................................................................... $250.00  
   
  3.5. North America Veterinary License Exam (NAVLE) eligibility processing fee .......................... $75.00 
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  3.6.  Veterinary Technician application, examination and registration fee .................................. $10.00  
 
  3.7.  Veterinary Technician registration renewal fee ...................................................................... $5.00 
   
  3.8.  Veterinary Technician inactive registration fee ...................................................................... $2.00 
 
  3.9.  Veterinary Technician inactive registration reactivation fee .................................................. $6.00  
   
  3.10.  Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician application, Rules and Practice Act, examination  
and certification fee  .......................................................................................................................... $110.00
   
  3.11.  Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician training program fee .......................................... $225.00 
 
  3.12.  Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician certification renewal fee ..................................... $50.00 
 
  3.13.  Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician continuing education program fee .................... $250.00 
 
  3.14.  Animal Euthanasia Facility initial registration and renewal fee .......................................... $50.00 
 
  3.15.  Inspection of a facility which employs a Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician and is 
performing euthanasia ...................................................................................................................... $250.00  
 
  3.16.  Veterinary facility inspection fee ....................................................................................... $300.00 
 
  3.17.  Veterinary ambulatory inspection fee…………………………………………………………………………..$200.00 
   
  3.18.  Veterinary facility re‐inspection fee .................................................................................. $400.00 
 
  3.19.  Veterinary facility initial registration and renewal fees  ................................................... $100.00 
 
  3.20.  Continuing education program review and evaluation…………………………………………………...$50.00 
 
  3.21.  Rules and Practice Act Booklet 
     
    3.21.a.  Office Generated ……………………………………………………………………………………..……………$35.00 
 
    3.21.b.  Online   ………………………………………………… ............................................................... ….No fee 
 
  3.22.  Written confirmation of licensure, registration, or certification ........................................ $25.00 
     
  3.23.  Duplicate license, registration, or certification certificate 
   
    3.23.a.  Office Generated   .................................................................................................... $25.00 
 
    3.23.b.  Online    ...................................................................................................................... No fee 
 
  3.24.  Veterinary application petitioning for a licensure eligibility………………………………………….$150.00 
 

3.25.  Veterinary technician application petitioning for a registration eligibility……………………….$50.00 
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  3.26.  All fees shall be payable to the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine by check, cashier’s 
check, money order, credit card or electronic transfer, if and when such credit card or electronic transfer 
services are available.   
 
  3.27.  All fees not received by the due date shall be assessed a penalty to be determined by the 
Board, not to exceed 25% of the original fee required. 
 
§26‐6‐4. Application for Waiver of Fees. 
 

4.1. The Board may issue a license to an applicant who meets the requirements of W. Va. Code §30‐
31‐1 et seq. and the rules promulgated by the Board, and the Board shall waive the initial licensure fee if 
the applicant qualifies as a “low‐income individual” or as a member of one or more “military families” as 
defined in this rule.  

 
4.2.  Low‐income  individuals,  as  defined  in  this  rule,  may  seek  a  waiver  of  the  initial  licensure, 

registration, or certification  fee by submitting with  their  complete application a  low‐income waiver of 
initial  licensure  fee  form,  provided  by  the  Board  at  www.wvbvm.org,  and  all  required  verification 
documents  as  prescribed  by  the  Board.    The  Board  shall  review  the  application  and  issue  a  decision 
within 30 days of receipt of the complete application. 

 
4.3.  Military families, as defined in this rule, may seek a waiver of the initial licensure or renewals of 

licensure, registration, or certification fee by submitting by submitting with their complete application a 
military  service  verification  form,  provided  by  the  Board  at  www.wvbvm.org,  and  all  required 
verification documents as prescribed by the Board.  The Board shall review the application and issue a 
decision within 30 days of receipt of the complete application. 
 

4.4.  An honorably discharged military veteran and/or their accompanying spouse may seek a waiver 
of the inspection fee for a veterinary facility solely owned by the honorably discharged military veteran 
or their accompanying spouse for one year following their discharge from active duty by submitting with 
their  complete  application  a  military  service  verification  form,  provided  by  the  Board  at 
www.wvbvm.org, and all required verification documents as prescribed by the Board.   The Board shall 
review the application and issue a decision within 30 days of receipt of the complete application. 
 
     




